RenewalCliff Price alerts

Corrections

Every time a number on this site was wrong, this page says so: what I showed, what is right, how the error got in, and what changed to stop the next one. Newest first. Corrections to a company's prices also appear on that company's page and on what changed.

2026-08-30: ChemiCloud's cliff halved on a sentence that says the price is elsewhere
Wrong: the Index treated ChemiCloud's renewal price as printed on the pricing page, halved its cliff points, and scored it 25.8 (mild), second on the hosting table. Right: the sentence I captured reads "will automatically renew after the initial term at the regular rate found in your control panel", which tells you the number is not on the page but in an account you can only reach after buying. On a jump from $1.49 to $11.95 that is the opposite of disclosure. ChemiCloud now scores 55.6 (elevated) and carries the not-on-page flag, which makes it the highest-scoring host on the Index. How: the disclosure input checked that a renewal sentence existed and was not from a blog post. It never checked whether the sentence states the price. That is the same shape as the EasyWP correction two days ago, which checked existence rather than location. Changed: a sentence that defers the price to a control panel, an account, a dashboard, the cart or a sales contact is no longer disclosure, dated on the methodology. I also tried a broader rule, that the sentence must contain the renewal figure, and dropped it: it would have penalised EasyWP, which states its renewal as a 24-month total of $125.90 rather than $5.25 a month, and Pressable, whose page prints "$ 20 .83" with spaces inside the number. No other company's score moved.
2026-08-30: beehiiv priced at a list size it does not sell
Wrong: for about an hour the beehiiv page listed a tier reading "unlimited" subscribers at $329.00/mo on Scale and $459.00/mo on Max. Right: beehiiv's published bands stop at 100,000 subscribers; above that its pricing page offers only its Enterprise plan, which is quoted rather than priced. There is no published price for an unlimited list. How: I shipped a reader that selects each of the nine subscriber bands in turn and reads the plan cards. At the last option, "100K+", the priced cards keep showing their 100,000 price instead of re-rendering, and I read that stale number as an open-ended price. Changed: at that band the reader now records only the card that routes you to sales, and a test asserts no tier is ever written with a floor above its ceiling, which the same bug also produced.
2026-08-30: four beehiiv price rises that never happened
Wrong: the same reader recorded four price increases against beehiiv, Scale from $49.00 to $69.00 a month and Max from $109.00 to $149.00, with the annual rates to match. Right: beehiiv did not change any price. My stored record had labelled beehiiv's 1,000-subscriber price as though it covered up to 2,500; when the reader read the real 2,500 band, the difference surfaced as a rise. The reader confirms the old numbers exactly at the band they actually belong to. How: the original entry was taken from the page's default view without recording which band was selected. Changed: they were never published, because a price change is only published once a later check re-observes the same value; tomorrow's check would have done that and counted them as dated increases in the Index, so this corrects what was about to be said rather than what was said. Added 2026-08-30: removing the four events was not enough and they came back twice. They are not stored but worked out on every rebuild, by comparing the stored record against the new reading, so while the stored record kept the 1,000-subscriber prices under a 2,500 label the comparison kept inventing the same rise. The stored band is now labelled 1,000, which is what those prices are, and the events stay gone.
2026-08-29: a yearly price nobody charges
Wrong: where a vendor bills yearly, the site showed the year's cost as twelve times the monthly rate it advertises. For Kit that read $396.00 a year. Right: Kit's pricing page prints "$33/mo, $390 billed yearly" for Creator and "$790 billed yearly" for Creator Pro. The advertised monthly figure is the yearly charge divided by twelve and rounded up, so multiplying it back overstated the year by $6 and $2. How: the yearly figure was computed rather than read; no field existed to hold what the page actually says. Changed: tiers now store the stated yearly charge where a page prints one, and it is shown as printed; where no page states one, the figure is labelled "about" so it is clear it was worked out. Kit's two bands are corrected from the page as captured on 2026-08-29.
2026-08-28: EasyWP's cliff halved on the strength of a blog post
Wrong: the Index treated EasyWP's renewal price as printed on the pricing page and halved its cliff points, scoring it 8.5 (clean record). Right: the only place I have seen that renewal price is a blog post about a price update, so it is not disclosed at the point of sale; the cliff is not halved and the not-on-page flag applies. EasyWP now scores 20.9 (mild). How: the disclosure input checked that a renewal sentence existed, not where it was found. Changed: the methodology now states that a renewal price found only in a blog or news post does not count as printed (dated 2026-08-28). No other company's score moved. Later the same day: the renewal price turned out to be printed on Namecheap's EasyWP pricing page, which walls off automated checks; the Internet Archive's capture of 2026-08-26 carries it, and EasyWP's prices are now read from that capture. With a first-party source the cliff is halved again and EasyWP scores 8.5. The rule stands; the evidence changed. Details in site notes.
2026-08-28: Flodesk free plan ranked at every list size
Wrong: the email calculator called Flodesk's free plan the cheapest option at 5,000 contacts. Right: the page does not state a subscriber cap for that plan, so no size can be assumed; the cheapest published option at 5,000 contacts is Pro at $59/mo. How: a tier without a stated cap was treated as unlimited. Changed: tiers whose cap the page never states are no longer ranked at any size (Flodesk and Campaign Monitor free plans); a stated unlimited tier, such as Substack, still is.
2026-08-28: Cloudways prices read from placeholders
Wrong: since 2026-08-23 I showed Cloudways Micro at $11/mo and Medium at $88/mo. Right: the rendered pricing page states Micro (1GB) at $14/mo and Medium (4GB) at $54/mo, from my US check and from a second vantage. How: the page's static HTML carries "$11 USD per month" on every card as a template placeholder, and JavaScript fills in the real prices; my first reading used the static text. An interim note the same day blamed a plan-variant mix-up; that explanation was also wrong and is withdrawn. Changed: pages that render prices with JavaScript are read only from the rendered page, and the Cloudways reader matches plans by name and server size.
2026-08-28: free-tier cuts displayed as about 100%
Wrong: the Index showed Mailchimp's 2026-02-17 free-tier cut and MailerLite's 2026-07-03 cut as roughly 100% of the tier removed. Right: both cuts were 50% (500 to 250 contacts). How: the parser read archive dates inside my own source notes as a number pair. Changed: the first stated "from N to M" pair is the scored cut and dates are stripped first. Scores did not move, because a 50% cut already reaches that component's 12-point cap; the displayed inputs were wrong, the totals were not.

How to report one

Send the page URL, the number you believe is wrong, and where you saw the right one: contact. I re-verify the same day from my own check, fix it, and add it here. I would rather publish a correction than defend a number.